#343 – Warmduscher, Yikii, Ka Baird & Pekka Airaksinen, Tara Clerkin Trio, Deemas J & Interrupt, Proc Fiscal - 11 October 2021


Manage episode 304302380 series 2418405
By Independent Music Podcast. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

After our week away last week, we have a truly sublime selection this week. There’s a real record of the year contender out of left field from Chinese artist Yikii, who blends classical music with post-industrial haunted Chinese nursery rhymes, there’s the last recording from Finnish experimental pioneer Pekka Airaksinen, and the latest ace new record on Wrong Speed from Nape Neck drummer Mia La Metta.

Elsewhere we have trip hop jazz fusion from Tara Clerkin Trio, the first taste of Warmduscher on Bella Union, percussive experimentation from podcast favourite Ilia Gorovitz and lots more.

Ka Baird & Pekka Airaksinen – Syzygy (For Pekka) (RVNG Intl., USA)
Ilia Gorovitz – Endless Spiral (Hinterland Recordings, Germany)
Deemas J – Drive Faster! (Interrupt & Sagete remix) (Sagete Records, Italy)
Marta Del Grandi – Shy Heart (Fire Records, UK)
Yikii – Afterimage in Ruin 廢墟残像 (Danse Noir, Switzerland)
Mia La Metta – Squashed Oranges (Wrong Speed Records, UK)
G36 – Sulfer (Pressure, Belgium)
Tara Clerkin Trio – Night Steps (World of Echo, UK)
Warmduscher – Wild Flowers (Bella Union, UK)
Proc Fiscal – Humancargoe Estt (Hyperdub, UK)

Produced and edited by Nick McCorriston

356 episodes