Scored To Death Radio: Profondo Goblin: A History, Part 1 - The Soundtracks 1975-1977


Manage episode 320876949 series 116485
By Erik Woods. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

In 1975, one of Italy’s biggest and most innovative filmmakers asked a group of unknown young musicians to record the score for his latest film and forever altered the course of film music. The filmmaker was Dario Argento, the film was DEEP RED (aka PROFONDO ROSSO) and the musicians were a progressive rock band named Goblin.

Now, SCORED TO DEATH RADIO host & author J. Blake Fichera takes listeners on a detailed sonic journey through the music and history of one of Italy’s and film music’s most influential bands, with an epic multi-part podcast series about Goblin. This debut episode explores the band’s humble beginnings—how they formed, how they got their name, how they came to work on film scores, etc.—and dives deep into their film and television soundtracks from 1975 through 1977—including DEEP RED and SUSPIRIA.

So, pull up a seat, and get comfy with a glass of J&B because SCORED TO DEATH RADIO is setting sail on a fantastic voyage into 1970s Italy with the band Goblin.

Purchase both SCORED TO DEATH books by going to


This episode is brought to you by APM Music. APM is a top-tier music source for production and creative needs - consistently adding new music and new genres, offering an unmatched catalog via simple licensing. Visit APM Music at


Special thanks to our Patreon supporters: Matt DeWater, David Ballantyne, Mindtrickzz, Joe Wiles, Rich Alves, Maxime, William Welch, Tim Burden, Alan Rogers, Dave Williams, Max Hamulyák, Jeffrey Graebner, Douglas Lacey, Don Mase, Victor Field, Jochen Stolz, Emily Mason, Eric Skroch, Alexander Schiebel, Alphonse Brown, John Link, Andreas Wennmyr, Matt Berretta, Eldaly Morningstar, Elizabeth, Glenn McDorman, Chris Malone, Steve Karpicz, Deniz Çağlar, Brent Osterberg, Jérôme Flick, Sarah Brouns, Aaron Collins, Randall Derchan, Paul Helmuth & Angela Rabatin.


Cinematic Sound Radio is fully licensed to play music by SOCAN.

Support us on Patreon

Check out our NEW Cinematic Sound Radio TeePublic Store!

Cinematic Sound Radio

Cinematic Sound Radio Fanfare and Theme by David Coscina

Bumper voice artist: Tim Burden

467 episodes